Houston Driving Under the Influence Lawyers
Under Texas’s penal code, there are two distinct charges for people arrested for operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol: DWI and DUI. DWI, which stands for driving while intoxicated, is a charge specifically placed against adults 21 years or older who are found to be mentally incapacitated or with a BAC over .08 while driving a motor vehicle. Driving under the influence (DUI), on the other hand, is a charge placed on people under the age of 21 who are found with any amount of detectable alcohol in their system.
When a minor is facing a DUI charge in Houston, Kyle Sampson, Attorney at Law, knows how frightening and stressful it can be for both the minor and his or her family. Though the penalties associated with a DUI are less severe than those associated with a DWI conviction, they can still have a dramatic effect on a minor’s life, making it important to have a strong defense in this situation.
Penalties for Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
The penalties for a DUI conviction in Texas will vary depending on the person’s exact situation, largely depending on whether they have been convicted of a DUI twice before. However, a person convicted of a DUI should typically expect the following penalties:
- Jail time from 3-180 days
- License suspension from 90-365 days
- Fines up to $2,000
The best chance you have of avoiding these penalties is to enlist the support of an experience DUI attorney, as he or she will know what it takes to successfully fight such a charge.
Contact a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Attorney in Houston
If you or someone you know has been charged with DUI in Texas, you have a legal right to defend yourself. Kyle Sampson, Attorney at Law, will fight aggressively to help clients pursue the best outcomes possible, and may be able to help you achieve a positive outcome in your case. Call our team today at (713) 337-1420 to begin working on a strong defense for your DUI charge.