Houston DWI/DUI With a Child Passenger
Charges of DWI or DUI are treated extremely seriously in the state of Texas, and they are considered even more serious if there is a child passenger (someone under the age of 17) at the time of the arrest or accident. As a result, anyone facing a charge of a DWI/WUI with a child passenger is likely to be frightened and stressed about the possible penalties. Unfortunately, the situation might be made even more daunting if you are also charged with child endangerment, which is quite common in these situations.
Though Kyle Sampson, Attorney at Law, knows how upsetting it can be to be charged with DWI/DUI with a child passenger, knowing more about your rights and enlisting an attorney you can trust can help. In fact, with a skilled defense lawyer on your side, it is more likely that you can avoid a conviction or life-altering penalties.
Penalties for DWI/DUI With a Child Passenger
The Texas Penal Code states that a person who is convicted of DWI/DUI with a child passenger could face numerous penalties. These consequences can include:
- Jail time of up to 2 years in state jail
- Losing driver’s license for up to 180 days
- Fines up to $10,000
Of course, if injuries or extensive damages occur, these penalties may be worse. As such, it’s just important to get a defense attorney involved in your case as soon as possible.
Contact a DWI/DUI With a Child Passenger Attorney in Houston
If you or someone you care about is facing charges of DWI or DUI with a child passenger, Kyle Sampson, Attorney at Law, can help. Our team has been working with clients for years to defend their rights and freedoms, and may be able to successfully defend you against this charge. Get in touch with us today to discuss your case by calling (713) 337-1420.